Huskers win 17 titles at Mark Colligan Memorial

The Nebraska track and field team posted 17 wins at the Mark Colligan Memorial event on Saturday at the Devaney Center Indoor Track.

Darius Luff moved up to first in the Big Ten and third in the nation this season while posting the fourth fastest time in program history with a time of 7.70 to win the 60m hurdles. Tyler Drew placed second with a run of 8.18, followed by Vincent Ohlman with an 8.26 finish to place fourth.

On the women’s side, Winsome Harris and LaQwasia Stepney finished back-to-back, with Harris taking the win in 8.43 and Stepney finishing second in 8.53.

The Huskers had a 1-2-3 sweep in the 60 for women, led by Darby Thomas’ win with a time of 7.57. Emma Algarin ran a time of 7.57 to finish second and Harris clocked a time of 7.75 to place third. Lorenzo Paissan won the men’s 60m with a run of 6.73, while Matthew Brown finished third with a time of 6.86. Paissan also placed third with a run of 21.60 in the 200m.

Algarin ran a 24.56 and Kayla Hugg clocked 24.67 to place first and second in the women’s 200m.

Cory Berg clocked 48.55 to win the 400m and move to ninth place in the Big Ten this season. Nick Bryant won the 600m with a time of 1:20.28, while Holden Ruse ran a 1:21.83 to finish third.
Bailey Timmons finished second in the mile with a run of 4:13.33 and Brynna McQuillen placed second in the 3000 m with a time of 10:17.98.

Zach Van Brocklin ran in 1:55.04 to place third in the 800m, while Lindsey Blehm covered the track in 2:16.14 to place fifth for the Big Red in the 800m.

Clayton Keys jumped 24-2 1/2 (7.38m) to win the long jump title. Michael Hoffer placed second with a jump of 23-11 1/2 (7.30 m), followed by Micaylon Moore in third (23-8, 7.21). Up to Steinforth finished fourth with a mark of 23-8 (7.21m) and Matthias Algarin jumped 23-2 3/4 (7.08) to place fifth.

On the women’s side, Thomas won the long jump and moved into second place in the Big Ten this season with a distance of 19-11 (6.07m). Stepney came second with a jump of 19-1 1/2 (5.83) and Ashley McElmurry finished fifth at 18-3 1/4 (5.57m).

McElmurry won the triple jump title with a leap of 40-9 1/2 (12.43m), while Lotavia Brown second (40-9, 12.42m) and Prefer wanjoku finished third (39-4, 11.99m).

Nebraska had Terrol Wilson wins the men’s triple jump with a jump of 49-11 3/4 (15.23 m). Passmore Mudundulu added a fourth-place finish with a mark of 48-4 (14.73m).

Riley Masten cleared 5-8 1/2 (1.74m) to move into a tie for sixth in the Big Ten and win the high jump on Saturday. Jenna Rogers finished second (5-8 1/2, 1.74m) and Brooklyn Miller third (5-7, 1.70m), followed by Madison Yerigan (5-7, 1.70m) and Madi Scholl (5-5, 1.65m) in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

Mayson Conner won the men’s high jump with a clearance of 6-11 (2.11), while Hoffer and Tyus Wilson tied for second with a height of 6-9 1/2 (2.07m).

Jessica Gardner and Andy Jacobs were crowned co-champions in the pole vault with a 12-6 1/4 (3.82m) clearance. Hannah Preissler recorded a third-place finish with a height of 12-0 1/2 (3.67m).

On the men’s side, drake burton won with a height of 15-3 3/4 (4.67m), while Colton Emeott (15-3 3/4, 4.67m) finished second and Zach Podraza (14-10, 4.52m) placed fourth.

Kalynn Meyer won the shot put with a 50-3 1/2 (15.33m) throw in his debut for the Huskers. Marika Spencer finished third in the shot put with a throw of 61-10 1/4 (18.85m).

Alex Talley (64-10, 19.76m) and Burger Lambrechts Jr. (64-9 3/4, 19.75m) placed first and second in the shot put, while Kevin Shubert finished fifth at 57-1 1/2 (17.41m).

Talley was second in the shot put with a distance of 69-10 1/4 (21.29m). Henry Zimmerman ranked third with a throw of 67-8 1/4 (20.63) and Maxwell Otterdahl threw 67-4 3/4 (20.54m) to finish fourth. Zach Morrison rounded out the top five with a mark of 64-11 3/4 (19.79m).

The Huskers are hosting the Adidas Classic next weekend Friday-Saturday January 28-29 at the Devaney Center Indoor Track.